United States District Court for the Western District of North Carolina

The United States District Court for the Western District of North Carolina serves western North Carolina. Appeals from the Western District are taken to the Fourth Circuit Court, except for patent claims and claims against the government that fall under the Tucker Act. The counties covered include: Alexander, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey.
The United States District Court for the District of North Carolina was established 4 Jun 1790. It was subdivided into three districts 9 Jun 1794 but the three districts were abolished 3 Mar 1797 and a single district restored. The state was again subdivided 29 Apr 1802 into three different districts. These districts were titled by the name of the city. In the first division, there was the District of Edenton, District of New Berna and District of Wilmington. These districts were abolished and when the district was divided a second time, the new divisions were the District of Albemarle, District of Cape Fear and District of Pamplico. In both divisions, only one judge was authorized to serve all three districts, so it was as if it was only one district. North Carolina was re-divided 4 Jun 1872 into two districts: Eastern and Western. The standing judge was reassigned to only the Eastern District. The Middle District was created from parts of the Eastern and Western Districts 2 Mar 1927.

JudgeDuty StationBirthYear AppointedAppointed ByDeathNotes
Boyd, James Edmund 18451900McKinley1935 
Cogburn, Max O JrAsheville19512011Obama  
Conrad, Robert James JrCharlotte19582005G W Bush  
Craven, James Braxton Jr 19181961Kennedy1977appointed to 4th Circuit Ct 1966
Dick, Robert P 18231872Grant1898retired
Ewart, Hamilton G 18491898McKinley1918not cofirmed
only active as judge from 1898-1900
Henderson, David Ezekiel 18791948Truman1968resigned 1949
Jones, Woodrow W 19141967L Johnson2002 
McKnight, Harold Brent 19522003G W Bush2004 
McMillan, James Bryan 19161968L Johnson1995 
Mullen, Graham CalderCharlotte19401990G H W Bush  
Potter, Robert Daniel 19231981Reagan2009 
Reidinger, Martin KarlAsheville19582007G W Bush  
Sentelle, David B 19431985Reagan appointed to D C Circuit Ct 1987
Thornburg, Lacy 19291995Clinton retired 2009
Voorhees, Richard LesleyCharlotte19411988Reagan  
Warlick, Wilson 18921949Truman1978 
Webb, Edwin Y 18721919Wilson1955 
Whitney, Frank DeArmonCharlotte19592006G W Bush  

Succession of seats:

Seat 1: established 4 Jun 1872 by 17 Stat 215; abolished 21 Aug 1935
Boyd, Dick, Ewart
Seat 2: established 5 Nov 1919 by 40 Stat 1156; on abolishment of Seat 1, seat became permanent 21 Aug 1935
Henderson, McMillan, Mullen, Reidinger, Warlick, Webb
Seat 3: established 19 May 1961, by 75 Stat 80
Craven, Jones, Sentelle, Voorhees
Seat 4: established 20 Oct 1978 by 92 Stat 1629
Cogburn, Potter, Thornburg
Seat 5: established 2 Nov 2002 by 116 Stat 1758
McKnight, Whitney
Seat 6: established 2 Nov 2002 by 116 Stat 1758

US Attorneys for the Western District

Ashcraft, Thomas J19871993
Baley, James M Jr19531961
Bender, Harold J19811981
Boyd, James E18801885
Brewer, Charles R19811987
Calloway, Mark T19942001
Candle, Theron L19401945
Conrad, Robert J Jr20012004
Durham, Stonewall J19201921
Edwards, Harold M19771981
Erwin, Marcus19331939
Francis, W Roy19391940
Glenn, Robert B18931997
Hammer, William C19141920
Harkins, Thomas J19271931
Henderson, David E19451948
Holton, Alfred E18971914
Israel, James O Jr19691969
Jonas, Charles A19311932
Jones, Hamilton C Jr18851889
Linney, Frank A19211927
Lusk, Virgil S18761880
Medford, William19611969
Miller, Jerry W19931993
Monteith, Hugh E19611961
Patton, Frank Caldwell19321933
Price, Charles18891893
Rose, Jill Westmoreland2015Present
Ryan, Edward R20092010
Shappert, Gretchen20042009
Snyder, Keith S19691977
Starbuck, D H18701876
Tompkins, Anne20102015
Uzzell, Thomas E19481953

Return to North Carolina Home Page

2013 - Present Ancestral Trackers & Jeanne Hicks This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent. All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited. The copyright(s) Ancestral Trackers, on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material - when used with the permission of host.