United States District Court for the Middle Distrit of North Carolina

The United States District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina serves 24 counties in North Carolina. Appeals from the Eastern District are taken to the Fourth Circuit Court, except for patent claims and claims against the government that fall under the Tucker Act. The district is divided into five divisions. The division headquarters is in Greensboro. The Durham division covers Chatham, Durham, Lee, Orange and Person counties. The Greensboro division covers Alamance, Caswell, Guilford, Randolph and Rockingham counties. The Rockingham division covers Hoke, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond and Scotland. The Salisbury division covers Cabarrus, Davidson, Davie, Rowan and Stanly counties. The Winston-Salem division covers Forsyth, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin counties.
The United States District Court for the District of North Carolina was established 4 Jun 1790. It was subdivided into three districts 9 Jun 1794 but the three districts were abolished 3 Mar 1797 and a single district restored. The state was again subdivided 29 Apr 1802 into three different districts. These districts were titled by the name of the city. In the first division, there was the District of Edenton, District of New Berna and District of Wilmington. These districts were abolished and when the district was divided a second time, the new divisions were the District of Albemarle, District of Cape Fear and District of Pamplico. In both divisions, only one judge was authorized to serve all three districts, so it was as if it was only one district. North Carolina was re-divided 4 Jun 1872 into two districts: Eastern and Western. The standing judge was reassigned to only the Eastern District. The Middle District was created from parts of the Eastern and Western Districts 2 Mar 1927. Johnson Jay Hayes was appointed as the first judge of the Middle District by President Calvin Coolidge.

JudgeDuty StationBirthYear AppointedAppointed ByDeathNotes
Beaty, James A JrWinston-Salem19491994Clinton  
Biggs, Loretta CopelandWinston-Salem19542014Obama  
Bullock, Frank William Jr 19381982Reagan retired 2006
Eagles, CatherineGreensboro19582010Obama  
Erwin, Richard 19231980Carter2006 
Gordon, Eugene Andrew 19171964L Johnson2002 
Hayes, Johnson Jay 18861927Coolidge1970 
Osteen, William Lindsay JrGreensboro19602007G W Bush  
Osteen, William Lindsay Sr 19301991G H W Bush retired 2007
Preyer, Richardson 19191961Kennedy2001resigned 1963
Schroeder, Thomas DWinston-Salem19592008G W Bush  
Stanley, Edwin Monroe 19091957Eisenhower1971 
Tilley, Norwood Carlton JrGreensboro19431988Reagan  
Ward, Hiram Hamilton 19231972Nixon2002 

Succession of seats:

Seat 1: established 2 Mar 1927 by 44 Stat 1339
Eagles, Hayes, Stanley, Tilley, Ward
Seat 2: established 19 May 1961 by 75 Stat 80
Bullock, Gordon, Preyer, Schroeder
Seat 3: established 20 Oct 1978 by 92 Stat 1629
Beaty, Biggs, Erwin
Seat 4: established 1 Dec 1990 by 104 Stat 5089
Osteen, Osteen

U.S. Attorneys for the Middle District

Edmunds, Robert H Jr19861993
Gavin, Edwin L19281932
Gavin, Robert L19571958
Hairston, Sandra J2017Present
Higgins, Carlisle W19341947
Holshouser, James E Sr19581961
Holt, Bryce R19471954
Holton, Walter C Jr19942001
Linney, Frank A19271928
McAllister, Kenneth W19811986
McCrary, John R19321934
Michaux, Mickey19771980
Murdock, William H19611969
Osteen, William Lindsay Sr19691974
Rand, Ripley20102017
Stanley, Edwin M19541957
Tilley, N Carlton Jr19741977
Wagoner, Anna Mills20012010
White, Benjamin H Jr19771977
White, Benjamin H Jr19931993
Williams, Lafayette19611961

Return to North Carolina Home Page

2013 - Present Ancestral Trackers & Jeanne Hicks This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent. All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited. The copyright(s) Ancestral Trackers, on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material - when used with the permission of host.