United States District Court for the Eastern District of North Carolina

The United States District Court for the Eastern District of North Carolina serves 44 counties in North Carolina. Appeals from the Eastern District are taken to the Fourth Circuit Court, except for patent claims and claims against the government that fall under the Tucker Act. The District has three staff offices and holds court in six cities: Elizabeth City, Fayetteville, Greenville, New Bern, Raleigh and Wilmington. The main office is in Raleigh. The district is divided into four divisions. The eastern division is based in Greenville and handles cases from Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Pamlico and Pitt counties. The northern division serves Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Northampton, Pasquotank, perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington County. While it is based in Raleigh, cases are heard in Elizabeth City. The southern division serves Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Robeson and Sampson. This division is based in Wilmington. Cases are heard in Wilmington. The western division serves Cumberland, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Johnston, Nash, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wayne and Wilson counties. The division is based in Raleigh but hears cases in Fayetteville, Greenville ane New Bern.
The United States District Court for the District of North Carolina was established 4 Jun 1790. It was subdivided into three districts 9 Jun 1794 but the three districts were abolished 3 Mar 1797 and a single district restored. The state was again subdivided 29 Apr 1802 into three different districts. These districts were titled by the name of the city. In the first division, there was the District of Edenton, District of New Berna and District of Wilmington. These districts were abolished and when the district was divided a second time, the new divisions were the District of Albemarle, District of Cape Fear and District of Pamplico. In both divisions, only one judge was authorized to serve all three districts, so it was as if it was only one district. North Carolina was re-divided 4 Jun 1872 into two districts: Eastern and Western. The standing judge was reassigned to only the Eastern District. The Middle District was created from parts of the Eastern and Western Districts 2 Mar 1927.

JudgeDuty StationBirthYear AppointedAppointed ByDeathNotes
Boyle, TerrenceElizabeth City19451984Reagan  
Britt, William EarlRaleigh19321980Carter  
Brooks, George Washington 18211865A Johnson1882 
Butler, Algernon Lee 19051959Eisenhower1978 
Connor, Henry G 18521908Taft1924 
Dever, James C IIIRaleigh19622005G W Bush Chief from 2011
Dupree, Franklin Taylor Jr 19131970Nixon1995 
Flanagan, Louise WNew Bern19622003G W Bush  
Fox, James Carrollinactive19281982Reagan  
Gilliam, Donnell 18891945Truman1960 
Howard, Malcolm JonesGreenville19391988Reagan  
Larkins, John Davis Jr 19091961Kennedy1990 
Meekins, Isaac Melson 18751925Coolidge1946 
Purnell, Thomas Richard 18471897McKinley1908 
Seymour, Augustus Sherrill 18361882Arthur1897 

Succession of Seats:

Seat 1: Seat reassigned from Districts of NC 4 Jul 1872 by 17 Stat 215, Seat abolished 2 Aug 1975
Brooks, Butler, Connor, Gilliam, Meekins, Purnell, Seymour
Seat 2: Established 19 May 1961 by 75 Stat 80
Britt, Dever, Larkins
Seat 3: Seat established 2 Jun 1970 by 84 Stat 294
Boyle, Dupree
Seat 4: Seat established 20 Oct 1978 by 92 Stat 1929
Flanagan, Fox
Seat 5: Seat established 10 Jul 1984 by 98 Stat 333

U S Attorneys for the Court

Albertson, J W18781882
Anderson, George M19771980
Aycock, Charles B18931898
Aydlett, E F19201921
Badger, Richard C18721878
Bernard, Claude M18981902
Blackburn, James L19801981
Bruce, John Stuart2016Present
Busbee, Fabius H18851889
Carr, James O19161919
Carr, James O19341945
Cole, Janice McKenzie19942001
Cooke, Charles A18891893
Coolidge, Warren H19691973
Cowen, Robert H19611969
Currin, Margaret19881993
Currin, Sam19811987
Fisher, Walter H19301934
Gaskill, Julian T19531961
Green, Charles P19511953
Holding, George20052011
Manning, John H19461951
McCullough, J Douglas19871988
McCullough, J Douglas19931993
McNamara, Thomas P19731976
Robinson, W S O18821885
Rouse, Charles F19451946
Seawell, Herbert F19101913
Skinner, Harry19021910
Tilghman, Carl L19761977
Tucker, Irvin B19211930
Walker, Thomas20112016
Warren, Thomas D19191920
Whitney, Frank20022005
Winston, Francis D19131916

Return to North Carolina Home

2013 - Present Ancestral Trackers & Jeanne Hicks This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent. All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited. The copyright(s) Ancestral Trackers, on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material - when used with the permission of host.